20 January 2014

MYSTERY WRITERS OF THE PAST - Dame Ngaio Marsh 1895-1982

Ngaio Marsh - yet another mystery writer from the Golden Age, whose books and television series have transcended in to the 21st century.

Born in Christchurch, New Zealand Dame Ngaio Marsh is the author of 32 detective novels written between 1934-1982.  Set in 1930s London, they were dramatised in the 1990s on a BBC television series, entitled The Inspector Alleyn Mysteries.

Ngaio became a Dame Commander of the Order of the British Empire in 1966, and in 1978, she won the Grand Master Award from Mystery Writers of America.

Along with Agatha Christie, Dorothy L. Sayers and Margery Alingham, Ngaio Marsh is known as one of the four Queens of Crime of the Golden Age 1920s-1940s.

Her other great passion in life was the theatre.  Between 1942-1969, she was  theatre director with the University of Canterberry Drama Society in New Zealand where the Ngaio Marsh Theatre is now named in her honour.

Her home in the Cashmere Hills, is preserved as a museum.

Other mystery writers of the past:-

1 comment:

  1. What an interesting name...Ngaio. She certainly was a prolific write churning out that many mystery novels. Great review!